The University of Arkansas at Hope-Texarkana held a pinning ceremony for Arkansas Rural Nursing Education Consortium (ARNEC) LPN/LVN-to-RN transition program graduates Monday, December 1, 2016, at Hempstead Hall on the UofA Hope campus.  This year the program graduated twenty-four students.  Program Division Chair Dr. Josephine Kahler said, “This year’s class had a 100% retention rate; we are very proud of them.”

ARNEC is a co-operative effort of eight two-year colleges who joined to offer the program.  The 12-month program combines classroom instruction with clinical experiences and is designed to meet the needs of working LPN’s, LPTN’s, or LVN’s and meets the requirements of the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.  Graduates of the program receive an Associate of Applied Science degree which prepares them to take the NCLEX-RN (Registered Nurse licensing examination).

The transition program courses are offered via a new and innovative approach using real-time interactive web technology. The courses are scheduled on Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 3:30–8:30 p.m. at the UofA Hope and Texarkana campuses, and most clinical time takes place on weekends and evenings.  Interested students should contact an advisor today to enroll in any needed pre-requisite courses.

For more information please visit or call the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana at 870-722-8289.

Pictured left to right, Back Row: Dianna Shewbirt of Rosston, AR, Ashley Berry of Hope, AR, Whitney Burks of Stephens, AR, Vanity Cunningham of Garland City, AR, Staci Hamlin of Taylor, AR, Donna Kidd of Hope, AR, Vivian Pearson of Lewisville, AR, Roger House of Ashdown, AR, April Stewart of Rosston, AR, Cody Thompson of Arkadelphia, AR, Shani West of Hope, AR, Emily Woodruff of New Boston, TX. Front Row: Marissa Brzeski of Prescott, AR, Jerri Jester of Gurdon, AR, Cindia Bullock of Bradley, AR, Janice Harris of Texarkana, AR, Kendreau Haywood of Nashville, AR, Matrae Hodge of Bivins, TX, Beth Rash of Prescott, AR, Brittany Porter of Texarkana, AR, Amanda Love of Hope, AR, Kim Williams of Saratoga, AR, Diane King of Texarkana, AR. Not pictured: Stacy Jackson of Hope, AR.