Chancellor Chris Thomason of UACCH-Texarkana met with Julia Mobley, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Commercial National Bank of Texarkana, to sign a gift agreement to establish the first annual scholarship for the UACCH-Texarkana campus.  Mobley, who also funds a scholarship on the Hope campus, was pleased to support the new campus and believes in the UACCH mission at Texarkana.

Mobley shared with the Chancellor, “Commercial National Bank is a proud supporter of this community college and the University of Arkansas.  Education is the pathway to a better life.  Our community benefits when we have an educated populous.  Part of a good education is learning to make critical decisions and I believe UACCH-Texarkana can teach this skill.  Commercial National Bank is proud to offer this annual scholarship.”

The Commercial National Bank scholarship will be awarded to a student who is a current Miller or Bowie County resident and enrolled as a full-time student at UACCH-Texarkana.  The applicant must have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. The annual scholarship will provide $500 in the fall and $500 in the spring scholarship, beginning in the spring of 2013. 

The UACCH Foundation appreciates this support to establish an annual scholarship for students on the UACCH-Texarkana campus.  Scholarships help students overcome financial hurdles of a higher education that often prohibits many from pursuing their educational dreams.  For more information about scholarships or to apply for a scholarship to attend UACCH, visit the College website at  The deadline to apply for spring scholarships is November 15th.