The University of Arkansas Community College at Hope Foundation is pleased to announce the establishment of the Pinehope Health Professions Endowed Scholarship.  This endowed scholarship was established through a generous contribution from the shareholders of Hempstead Homes Inc., formerly known as Pinehope Nursing Home of Hope, Arkansas. The original shareholders include the late Dr. George and Clara Wright; Mrs. Margaret Harris the late Dr. Lynn Harris; Dr. Jon and Martha Leim; Dr. Billy and Betty Capps; the late Bill and Maxine Powell Sr.; and Mrs. Deanna Haynie and the late Doug Haynie.  They were represented by Steve Harris, president of Hempstead Homes, for the establishment of the scholarship criteria.

The Pinehope Health Professions Endowed Scholarship will provide financial assistance to a student pursuing a certificate or degree in the field of Health Professions.  The applicant must maintain a 2.5 grade point average.  The funds will be managed through the policy of the UACCH Foundation Board of Directors and will be awarded in the fall of 2014.

UACCH Chancellor Chris Thomason said, “The establishment of this scholarship just continues to exemplify the care these individuals have for the well-being of this community.  As I look at the shareholders and the families represented, I am grateful for the contribution they made to Hope and this community. As students obtain this scholarship to pursue a higher education, the legacy of caring for and helping others, which these donors have left with us, will continue for many more years.”

Please help the UACCH Foundation express our sincere appreciation to these donors.  For more information about the UACCH Foundation and ways you can help students through a gift to the Foundation, visit the College website at

PICTURED Left to Right starting on the front row: Hempstead Homes Inc. shareholders present check: Dr. Lowell Harris, Mrs. Margaret Harris, Dr. Jon Leim. Back row is Chancellor Chris Thomason with shareholders Judge Randy Wright, Steve Harris, and Dr. Billy Capps.