The University of Arkansas Community College at Hope-Texarkana is pleased to announce plans for a special student completion ceremony and final Respiratory Therapy Program Recognition Ceremony on December 18 at 7:00 p.m. in the Washington Suite of Hempstead Hall.

The Respiratory Therapy program began at UACCH in 1988 with the first class being accepted in 1989 for technical certificates in Respiratory Care.  In August of 1989, Ken LeJeune was named the Program Director and has continued to be an instrumental part of the program. In 2000, Scott Hughes was named the Director of Clinical Education, a position he has continued to fulfill with this class of students.  Throughout the years, others have played a key role in the program including Jack Moore, Dr. Michael Downs, Clark Milligan, Jim Cowan, Bill O’Neal, Karen Diles, and Dr. Michael Young.  The program has also been supported through instruction from adjunct faculty members including Paul Linder, James Gooch, Jamie Ayers, and Stephanie Burns.

With the work of these instructors and adjunct members, the respiratory program has trained over 200 entry-level and advanced-level eligible practitioners on the Hope Campus.

Please join the Faculty, Staff and Final Respiratory class on December 18 at 7:00 p.m. as they look back over years of success of this program.


PICTURED Left to Right: Scott Hughes, B.S.; Registered Respiratory Therapist and Ken Lejeune, M.S.; B.S.E., A.S.; Registered Respiratory Therapist pause for moment to reflect on the students that have benefited from the Respiratory Therapy Program