The University of Arkansas Community College at Hope-Texarkana, founded in 1965, is pleased to announce the beginning of its 50th year of serving Southwest Arkansas, marked by a donation of a new endowment established by the College’s founding Director, J.W. Rowe.  Mr. Rowe served as the Director of Red River Vo-Tech from 1965 until 1987.  During a recent meeting with UACCH Chancellor Chris Thomason, Rowe shared memories of the early years at U of A Hope-Texarkana.  Those memories included the first time that Mr. Rowe climbed a metal gate near highway twenty-nine and walked up into the woods where the Administration Building is now located, as  he scouted out possible sites for the college.  Rowe’s dedication to helping students of the region has continued to be a focal point of the College.

Rowe has also continued to help students by funding scholarships through the UACCH Foundation.  In 2010 he established the J.W. and Janis Brian Rowe Endowed Scholarship for a student pursuing a degree in a medical field.  Mr. Rowe is now establishing a second endowed scholarship, the Mona Rowe Rowland Memorial Endowed Scholarship, in memory of his daughter.  The scholarship is given to a student pursuing a degree in practical nursing with a secondary preference to students pursuing a degree in business.

This scholarship along with many others can be applied for by visited the college website at



PICTURED: Left to Right: Chris Thomason with Mr. J.W. Rowe presenting a $10,000 check to the UACCH Foundation to establish the Mona Rowe Rowland Endowed Scholarship