The University of Arkansas at Hope recently received funding in the amount of $25,000 to purchase new equipment for the Distance Learning Center Student Computer Lab.  The funding was awarded by the Southwest Arkansas Planning & Development District, Inc., (SWAPDD) general improvement fund.

Arkansas State Representative for District 3 Brent Talley played an integral role in helping secure the funding for this project. Representative Talley stated, “I am pleased to have been able to assist UofA Hope in securing grant funding to upgrade the computer lab.  Technology is a key part of our lives and certainly has an important role in students’ higher education.”

Southwest Arkansas Planning & Development District, Inc., Executive Director Renee Dycus said, “SWAPDD is pleased to contribute $25,000 for the purchase of a new server and monitors for the UofA Hope computer lab.  General improvement funds were designed to assist projects that promote community and economic development, and this project will help further the skills of students in the southwest Arkansas region.”

The funding was used to replace the old lab with a new thin client lab running virtual desktops that use two-thirds less energy.  Students utilize the lab for research, homework, and other classroom projects.  Chancellor Chris Thomason said, “UofA Hope is very appreciative of Representative Brent Talley and the Southwest Arkansas Planning and Development District for providing the grant funds to equip the new computer lab in our Arts and Humanities Division.  This new equipment not only helps our students learn using the latest technology but also helps our instructors stay on the forefront of technology in the classroom.”

Renee Dycus (left), Executive Director of the Southwest Arkansas Planning & Development District, Inc., along with Brent Talley (right), Arkansas State Representative for District 3, present a check for $25,000 to Freddie Smith (left center), Chairman of the UofA Hope-Texarkana Board of Visitors and Chris Thomason (right center), UofA Hope-Texarkana Chancellor.