Jolane Cook, U of A Texarkana Executive Dean and Campus Director, recently graduated from Leadership Texarkana. Cook has served the UAHT campus in a variety of areas for over twenty-two years. She earned a Bachelor of Arts from Hendrix College and a Master of Public Administration from Texas A&M University in College Station.

According to Cook, her reason for becoming a part of Leadership Texarkana was to create pathways for citizens to enjoy a better quality of life and escape cycles of poverty through higher education attainment or workplace skills training. She plans to advocate for specific workplace skills training needed for job demands, including soft skills and technical skills. She plans to actively partner with organizations providing services addressing personal and health issues that may cause individuals to put training or higher education on hold. She also plans to advocate for the establishment of workplace scholarships and tuition reimbursement programs that enable employees and family members to complete technical training and/or bachelor’s degrees, focusing on second and third-year part-time student needs.

Leadership Texarkana is committed to ensuring Texarkana’s best future by fostering a culture and a community full of citizens taking responsibility for and working together for community excellence, pride, and progress. The organization believes that every organization – or community – rises or falls on its commitment to leadership. Leadership Texarkana is committed to educating leaders for our community, identifying and celebrating models of exemplary community leadership through the annual Wilbur and Idalee Hawkins Awards, and in engaging greater numbers of caring citizens as leaders throughout the greater Texarkana community through LIFT: the Leadership Initiative for Texarkana–by providing the motivation and the means for Working Together for Community Excellence, Pride and Progress.

Jolane Cook, University of Arkansas Texarkana Executive Dean
Pictured left to right: Prissy Hickerson, UAHT Board of Visitors; Brian Berry, UAHT Executive Vice Chancellor, and Jolane Cook, Texarkana Campus Executive Dean.