HOT SPRINGS (October 18, 2011) – Winners of the Academic All-Star Scholarships were announced today in Hot Springs at the annual conference of the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges (AATYC).

Mr. Shane Broadway, Interim Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, presented the keynote address at a brunch honoring the 22 student scholarship winners.  The students were awarded two scholarships: one worth $500 to complete their associate degree, and a second full-tuition scholarship to any of the 11 Arkansas public four-year universities to complete their bachelor’s degree. For the first time, Philander Smith College and Lyon College have offered scholarships as well. The combined cumulative total for both scholarships is estimated to be more than $500,000.

“These scholarships will enable our best and brightest students to reach for their dreams at any of Arkansas’ 11 public four-year universities, and now two private universities” said Dr. Ed Franklin, AATYC Executive Director. “Many of these students are studying hard to maintain excellent grades while also working and handling family responsibilities, which makes their accomplishments even more impressive. These students deserve our recognition, and these scholarships are a fine way to help them achieve their goals.”

Each of the 22 public two-year colleges names one student as an “Academic All-Star.” These students maintain a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25 out of a possible 4.0 and have completed a minimum of 24 credit hours in pursuit of an associate degree.

The 22 member institutions of AATYC located throughout Arkansas provide numerous educational programs, opportunities for career training or retraining, and continuing education as well as specialized training for today’s business and industry.

This year’s Academic All-Stars, and the college they are currently attending, are:

Arkansas Northeastern College, Blytheville Timothy P. Tucker
Arkansas State University – Beebe Scott Luffman
Arkansas State University – Mountain Home Ashley Rodman
Arkansas State University – Newport Alicia Taylor
Black River Technical College, Paragould Brittany Hembrey
College of the Ouachitas Chris Adams
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas, DeQueen Edgar Morales
East Arkansas Community College, Forrest City Dena Jo Hurt
Mid-South Community College, West Memphis Patricia Crume
National Park Community College, Hot Springs C. J. Knabe
North Arkansas College, Harrison Kris Hollingsworth
NorthWest Arkansas Community College, Bentonville Brandi Peters
Ozarka College, Melbourne Anna Mickler
Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas, Helena-West Helena Taryn Parker
Pulaski Technical College, North Little Rock Roshada Taylor
Rich Mountain Community College, Mena Tisha White
South Arkansas Community College, El Dorado Lisa Sipes
Southeast Arkansas College, Pine Bluff Nicole Wilkinson
Southern Arkansas University Tech, Camden Akelia Princess Russell
University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville Linh Tran
University of Arkansas Community College at Hope Rosemary Paredes
University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton Shelly Jack


For complete information, visit